On Finishing what you start

Advice On Finishing what you start

I once was told that the singular difference between a writer and an author, is that authors finish what they start.  You think that’s harsh, no?  At first I did too, however the more I think about it, the more I think it’s correct.  Lots of people dabble in writing.  Lots of them dither about collecting and creating pretty sentences or drawing up plots.  Not everyone is willing to go home after work every night and write until eighty-odd thousand words have been planted.  That’s to say nothing then, of the editing and publishing process.

There is a lot to be said on this topic and a lot of advice to be given to emerging writers. Some of the best has been summarised and clarified here, at Terrible Minds.  If you’re one of those who wants to make the leap from writer to author, I suggest you click the link and see what they have to say!

~ by bloowillbooks on March 5, 2012.

Leave a comment